

AVP/DC/15 ORIGINAL: E DATE: JUNE 23, 2012

Ε

Diplomatic Conference on the Protection of Audiovisual Performances

Beijing, June 20 to 26, 2012

SECOND REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

Prepared by the Secretariat

1. The Credentials Committee (hereinafter referred to as "the Committee"), established on June 20, 2012, by the Diplomatic Conference on the Protection of Audiovisual Performances, met for the second time on June 23, 2012.

2. The Delegations of the following States, elected members of the Committee by the Diplomatic Conference, attended the meeting: Azerbaijan, China, Japan, Paraguay, Slovenia, Zimbabwe (6).

3. The President of the Committee, elected by the Diplomatic Conference, was Mr. Garikai Kashitiku (Zimbabwe). The Vice-Presidents, elected by the Diplomatic Conference, were Mr. Yan Xiaohong (China) and Mr. Grega Kumer (Slovenia).

4. In accordance with Rule 9 (1) of the Amended Rules of Procedure adopted by the Conference on June 20, 2012 (document AVP/DC/2, hereinafter referred to as "the Rules of Procedure"), the Committee examined the credentials and full powers received since its first meeting on June 21, 2012.

- 5. The Committee found in order:
 - (a) as far as *Member Delegations* are concerned,

(i) the *credentials* and *full powers* (that is, *credentials* for participating in the Conference and signing the Final Act of the Conference, and *full powers* to sign the Treaty to be adopted by the Diplomatic Conference) of the delegations of the following (19) States:

Benin Burundi Côte d'Ivoire Cyprus Djibouti Ecuador France Jamaica Jordan Madagascar Mauritania Mauritius Peru Republic of Moldova Sao Tomé and Principe Senegal Spain Syrian Arab Republic Zimbabwe

(ii) the *credentials* without full powers to sign the Treaty (that is, *credentials* for participating in the Conference and signing the Final Act of the Conference) of the delegations of the following (11) States:

Austria Comoros Cuba India Myanmar Nigeria Romania Samoa South Africa Swaziland United Arab Emirates

The Committee took note of the fact that the delegations of some Member States had indicated that although they had presented credentials, they were not in a position, by virtue of their internal constitutional processes, to sign the Final Act (Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Thailand). The Committee expressed the wish that any other concerned delegations inform the Secretariat of that fact.

(b) as far as Observers are concerned, the letters or documents of appointment of representatives of the following (9) non-governmental organizations:

American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada (AFM) Associación Nacional de Intérpretes (ANDI) Association of Commercial Television in Europe (ACT) British Copyright Council (BCC) Center for Performers' Rights Administration (CPRA) of GEIDANKYO International Intellectual Property Alliance (IIPA) Knowledge Ecology International (KEI) Sociedad Argentina de Gestión de Actores Intérpretes (SAGAI) Society for Collective Administration of Performer's Rights (ADAMI)

6. The Committee recommends to the Conference, meeting in Plenary, to accept the credentials and full powers of the delegations mentioned in paragraph 5 (a)(i), above, the credentials of the delegations mentioned in paragraph 5 (a)(ii), above and the letters of appointment mentioned in paragraph 5 (b), above.

7. The Committee decided that a report on its meeting should be prepared by the Secretariat and issued as its report, to be presented by the President of the Committee to the Conference, meeting in Plenary.

8. It is recalled that credentials and/or full powers have been submitted by the following Member and Special delegations:

(a) the *credentials* and *full powers* (that is, credentials for participating in the Conference and signing the Final Act, and full powers to sign the Treaty to be adopted by the Diplomatic Conference) of the delegations of the following States: Belgium, Belize, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, Ecuador, Ethiopia, France, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guinea, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Nicaragua, Niger, Peru, Poland, Republic of Moldova, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Spain, Sudan, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Tunisia, United States of America, Uruguay, Zimbabwe (60).

(b) the *credentials* without full powers to sign the Treaty (that is, credentials for participating in the Conference and signing the Final Act) of the delegations of the following States: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Comoros, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, , Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, European Union, Fiji, Finland, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, , Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, Vanuatu, Viet Nam (81).

[End of document]

AVP/DC/15 page 4