CCIU/II / 1 ORIGINAL: French

BUREAUX INTERNATIONAUX RÉUNIS POUR LA PROTECTION DE LA PROPRIÉTÉ INTELLECTUELLE GENÈVE, SUISSE



UNITED INTERNATIONAL BUREAUX FOR THE PROTECTION OF INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY

GENEVA, SWITZERLAND

COMITÉ DE COORDINATION INTERUNIONS, DEUXIÈME SESSION INTERUNION COORDINATION COMMITTEE, SECOND SESSION

(Genève, 28 septembre au 2 octobre 1964) (Geneva, September 28 to October 2, 1964)

GENERAL INFORMATION ON THE INTERUNION COORDINATION COMMITTEE AND ITS SECOND ORDINARY SESSION

Composition of the Committee

1. The Interunion Coordination Committee (hereinafter referred to as "the Committee") is composed of the Member States of the Permanent Bureau of the Consultative Committee of the International Union for the Protection of Industrial Property (hereinafter referred to as "the Permanent Bureau" of the Paris Union) and of the Permanent Committee of the International Union for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works (hereinafter referred to as "the Permanent Committee" of the Berne Union).

2. Given the present composition of the Permanent Bureau of the Paris Union and of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union, at the second ordinary session of the Interunion Coordination Committee the following States are members:

- 1. Belgium
- 2. Brazil
- 3. Czechoslovakia
- 4. Denmark
- 5. France



- 6. Germany (Federal Republic)
- 7. Hungary
- 8. India
- 9. Italy
- 10. Japan
- 11. Morocco
- 12. Netherlands
- 13. Portugal
- 14. Rumania
- 15. Spain
- 16. Sweden
- 17. Switzerland
- 18. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- 19. United States of America
- 20. Yugoslavia

Terms of reference

3. Article 7 of the Rules of Procedure of the Committee defines the functions of the Committee as follows:

"The nature of the functions of the Committee is purely consultative. In particular, it will give advice to the Swiss Government, in its capacity as Supervisory Authority, on the administrative, financial and other matters of common interest to BIRPI, particularly in the matters provided for by the Staff and Financial Regulations of BIRPI."

Rules of Procedure

4. The Committee adopted its Rules of Procedure during the first session (see document CCIU/I/21, Annex II).

Second Ordinary Session

5. The second ordinary session will be held in Geneva, Switzerland, from 28 September to 2 October 1964. The opening meeting will take place on 28 September, at 10.00 a.m., in the Conference Hall in the International Telecommunications Union Building, 2, rue de Varembé. This Building is situated opposite the headquarters of BIRPI on the other side of Avenue Motta.

Present Officers

6. The present Officers are as follows:

Chairman:	Mr.	Hans MORF (Switzerland, Member State of the Permanent Bureau and of the Permanent Committee)
Vice-Chairmen:	Mr.	Muneoki DATE (Japan, Momber State of the Permanent Bureau)
	Mr.	Edmond ILIESCU (Rumania, Member State of the Permanent Committee)

7. The term of office of these Officers will expire when new Officers are elected.

Election of the new Officers

8. The new Officers shall be elected during the first meeting of the second ordinary session.

9. At this session, the Chairman shall be elected either from amongst the States which are Members solely of the Permanent Bureau of the Paris Union, i.e.:

> Czechoslovakia Hungary Japan Morocco Netherlands Sweden United States of America Yugoslavia

or else from amongst the States which are Members only of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union, i.e.:

> Belgium Brazil Denmark India Rumania

10. It shall be decided by lot from which of these two groups the Chairman shall be elected.

11. One of the Vice-Chairmen shall be elected from amongst the members of the other of these two groups. The other Vice-Chairman shall be elected from amongst the representatives of Member States of both the Permanent Bureau and the Permanent Committee, i.e.:



France Germany (Federal Republic) Italy Portugal Spain Switzerland United Kingdom

at at the of the second

10

e

. .

12. The Director of BIRPI has designated Dr. Arpad Bogsch, Deputy Director, BIRPI, as Secretary of the Committee.

i.....

c

0

.