CCIU/III/ 2 ORIGINAL: French

BUREAUX INTERNATIONAUX **RÉUNIS POUR LA PROTECTION** DE LA PROPRIÉTÉ INTELLECTUELLE GENÈVE, SUISSE

BRRPT UNITED INTERNATIONAL BUREAUX FOR THE PROTECTION OF INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY UNITED INTERNATIONAL GENEVA, SWITZERLAND

COMITÉ DE COORDINATION INTERUNIONS, TROISIÈME SESSION **INTERUNION COORDINATION COMMITTEE, THIRD SESSION**

(Genève, 28 septembre au 1er octobre 1965) (Geneva September 28 to October 1, 1965)

GENERAL INFORMATION ON THE INTERUNION COORDINATION COMMITTEE AND ITS THIRD ORDINARY SESSION

Composition of the Committee

The Interunion Coordination Committee (herein-1. after referred to as "the Committee") is composed of the Member States of the Executive Committee of the International Union for the Protection of Industrial Property (hereinafter referred to as "the Executive Committee" of the Paris Union) and of the Permanent Committee of the International Union for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works (hereinafter referred to as "the Permanent Committee" of the Berne Union).

Given the present composition of the Executive 2. Committee of the Paris Union and of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union, the following States are members of the Interunion Coordination Committee at the time of its third ordinary session:

- 1. Belgium
- 2. Brazil
- 3. Ceylon
- 4. Czechoslovakia
- 5. Denmark

6. France

page 2

- 7. Germany (Federal Republic)
- 8. Hungary
- 9. India
- 10. Italy
- 11. Japan
- 12; Morocco
- 13. Netherlands
- 14. Nigeria
- 15. Portugal
- 16. Rumania
- 17. Spain
- 18. Sweden
- 19. Switzerland
- 20, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- 21. United States of America
- 22. Yugoslavia

Terms of Reference

3. Article 7 of the Rules of Procedure of the Committee defines the functions of the Committee in the following terms:

"The nature of the functions of the Committee is purely consultative. In particular, it will give advice to the Swiss Government, in its capacity as Supervisory Authority, on the administrative, financial and other matters of common interest of BIRPI, particularly in the matters provided for by the Staff and Financial Regulations of BIRPI."

Rules of Procedure

4. The Committee adopted its Rules of Procedure during its first session (see document CCIU/I/21, Annex II). In view of the fact that the Permanent Bureau of the Consultative Committee of the Paris Union has been replaced by the Executive Committee of the Conference of Representatives CCIU/III/2 page 3

of that Union, the Committee decided at its last session, in October 1964, that the Paris Union would henceforth be represented in the Interunion Coordination Committee by the said Executive Committee (see document CCIU/II/10 Rev., paragraphs 36 and 37).

Third Ordinary Session

5. The Third Ordinary Session will be held in Geneva, Switzerland, from September 28 to October 1, 1965. The opening meeting will take place on September 28, at 3 p.m., in the Conference Hall of the headquarters building of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), at 41, avenue Giuseppe Motta (next to the headquarters of BIRPI).

Present Officers

- 6. The Officers serving at present are the following:
- Chairman: Mr. Ion Anghel (Rumania, Member State of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union)
 Vice-Chairmen: Mr. Edward J. Brenner (United States of America, Member State of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union)
 Mr. Miguel Bordonau (Spain, Member State of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union)

Committee of the Berne Union).

7. The term of office of these Officers will expire when new Officers are elected.

Election of the new Officers

8. The new Officers will be elected during the first meeting of the Third Ordinary Session.

9. At this session, the Chairman will be elected from among the States which are members only of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union, namely: COTU/III/2 page 4

Ceylon Czechoslovakia Hungary Japan Morocco Netherlands Nigeria Sweden United States of America Yugoslavia

10. One of the Vice-Chairmen will be elected from among the States which are members only of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union, namely:

> Belgium Brazil Denmark India Rumania

11. The other Vice-Chairman will be elected from among States which are members both of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union and of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union, namely:

> France Germany (Federal Republic) Italy Portugal Spain Switzerland United Kingdom

12. The Director of BIRPI has appointed Dr. Arpad Bogsch, Deputy Director, as Secretary of the Committee.