CCIU/IV/ 2 ORIGINAL:French July 22, 1966

BUREAUX INTERNATIONAUX RÉUNIS POUR LA PROTECTION DE LA PROPRIÉTÉ INTELLECTUELLE GENÈVE, SUISSE



UNITED INTERNATIONAL BUREAUX FOR THE PROTECTION OF INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY

GENEVA, SWITZERLAND

# COMITE DE COORDINATION INTERUNIONS, QUATRIEME SESSION INTERUNION COORDINATION COMMITTEE, FOURTH SESSION

(Genève, 26-29 septembre 1966)

(Geneva, September 26 to 29, 1966)

GENERAL INFORMATION CONCERNING THE INTERUNION COORDINATION COMMITTEE AND ITS FOURTH ORDINARY SESSION

## Composition of the Committee

1. The Interunion Coordination Committee (hereinafter called "the Committee") is composed of the member States of the Executive Committee of the International Union for the Protection of Industrial Property (hereinafter called "the Executive Committee" of the Paris Union) and of the Permanent Committee of the International Union for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works (hereinafter called "the Permanent Committee" of the Berne Union).

2. In view of the present composition of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union and of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union, the following States are members of the Interunion Coordination Committee at the time of its Fourth Ordinary Session:

- 1. Belgium
- 2. Brazil
- 3. Ceylon
- 4. Czechoslovakia
- 5. Denmark
- 6. France
- 7. Germany (Federal Republic)
- 8. Hungary
- 9. India
- 10. Italy
- 11. Japan

CCIU/IV/2 page 2

- 12. Morocco
- 13. Netherlands
- 14. Nigeria
- 15. Portugal
- 16. Rumania
- 17. Spain
- 18. Sweden
- 19. Switzerland
- 20. Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
- 21. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- 22. United States of America
- 23. Yugoslavia.

#### Observers

3. Any State member of the Paris Union or of the Berne Union, which is not a member of the Committee, may be represented at debates of the Committee by observers.

#### Terms of Reference

4. Article 7 of the Rules of Procedure of the Committee defines the functions of the Committee in the following terms:

"The nature of the functions of the Committee is purely consultative. In particular, it will give advice to the Swiss Government, in its capacity of Supervisory Authority, on the administrative, financial and other matters of common interest of BIRPI, particularly in the matters provided for by the Staff and Financial Regulations of BIRPI."

#### Fourth Ordinary Session

5. The Fourth Ordinary Session of the Committee will be held in Geneva, Switzerland, from September 26 to 29, 1966, at the same time and place as the Second Ordinary Session of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union. As the States which are members of the Executive Committee are also members of the Interunion Coordination Committee, this is a practical arrangement dictated primarily in the interests of economy.

6. The opening meeting will be held on September 26, at 3 p.m., in the Conference Room of BIRPI, 32, chemin des Colombettes, Geneva.

#### CCIU/IV/2 page 3

## Present Officers

7. The Officers serving at present are:

| Chairman: | Mr. | Giuseppe Talamo Atenolfi (Italy, |
|-----------|-----|----------------------------------|
|           |     | member State of the Executive    |
|           |     | Committee of the Paris Union     |
|           |     | and of the Permanent Committee   |
|           |     | of the Berne Union)              |

Vice-Chairmen: Mr. András Kiss (Hungary, member State of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union)

> Mr. S.V. Purushottam (India, member State of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union).

8. The term of office of these Officers will expire when new Officers are elected.

9. At the first and second sessions, the Officers consisted of representatives of the following countries: first session: Switzerland (Chairman), Japan and Rumania (Vice-Chairmen); second session: Rumania (Chairman), United States of America and Spain (Vice-Chairmen).

#### Election of new Officers

10. The new Officers will be elected during the first meeting of the Fourth Ordinary Session.

11. As the Chairman of the Second Ordinary Session was elected from among the representatives of States members only of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union, the Chairman of the Fourth Ordinary Session must be elected from among the representatives of States members only of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union (see Article 14(3)(b) of the Rules of Procedure), namely:

Ceylon Czechoslovakia Hungary Japan Morocco Netherlands Nigeria Sweden Union of Soviet Socialist Republics United States of America Yugoslavia.

# CCIU/IV/2 page 4

12. One of the Vice-Chairmen must be elected from among the representatives of States which are members of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union, namely:

> Belgium Brazil Denmark India Rumania.

13. The other Vice-Chairman must be elected from among the representatives of States which are members both of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union and of the Permanent Committee of the Berne Union, namely:

> France Germany (Federal Republic) Italy Portugal Spain Switzerland United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

14. The Director of BIRPI has appointed Dr. Arpad Bogsch, Deputy Director, as Secretary of the Committee.