International Labour Organization United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization World Intellectual Property Organization

ILO - Geneva

UNESCO - Paris

WIPO - Geneva

ILO/UNESCO/WIPO/ICR.20/3

ORIGINAL: English

DATE: September 7, 2009

INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION FOR THE PROTECTION OF PERFORMERS, PRODUCERS OF PHONOGRAMS AND BROADCASTING ORGANIZATIONS (ROME CONVENTION, 1961)

INTERGOVERNMENTAL COMMITTEE Twentieth Ordinary Session

Geneva, September 7 to 9, 2009

INFORMATION ON THE STATES NOT PARTY TO THE ROME CONVENTION BUT PARTY TO THE INTERNATIONAL COPYRIGHT CONVENTIONS REFERRED TO IN ARTICLE 24 OF THE ROME CONVENTION

Memorandum prepared by the Secretariat

Item 5 of the Provisional Agenda

1. Article 24, paragraph 2, of the Rome Convention provides as follows: "This Convention shall be open for accession by any State invited to the Conference referred to in Article 23, and by any State Member of the United Nations, provided that in either case such State is a party to the Universal Copyright Convention or a member of the International Union for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works."

2. To indicate for which States accession to the Rome Convention is open and which of them actually have acceded to it, a comparative table is presented herewith reflecting the status of adherence to the three Conventions concerned on October 15, 2008 (in the table, BC means that the State concerned is party to the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works (Berne Convention) and thus is a member of the International Union for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works (Berne Union) referred to in the above-quoted provision; UCC means that the State concerned is party to the Universal Copyright Convention; RC means that the State concerned is party to the Rome Convention).

State	Berne Convention	Universal Copyright Convention	Rome Convention
Albania	BC	UCC	RC
Algeria	BC	UCC	RC
Antigua and Barbuda	BC		
Andorra	BC	UCC	RC
Argentina	BC	UCC	RC
Armenia	BC		RC
Australia	BC	UCC	RC
Austria	BC	UCC	RC
Azerbaijan	BC	UCC	RC
Bahamas	BC	UCC	
Bahrain	BC		RC
Bangladesh	BC	UCC	
Barbados	BC	UCC	RC
Belarus	BC	UCC	RC
Belgium	BC	UCC	RC
Belize	BC	UCC	
Benin	BC		
Bhutan	BC		
Bolivia	BC	UCC	RC
Bosnia and	BC	UCC	
Herzegovina			
Botswana	BC		
Brazil	BC	UCC	RC
Brunei Darussalam	BC		
Bulgaria	BC	UCC	RC
Burkina Faso	BC		RC
Cambodia		UCC	
Cameroon	BC	UCC	
Canada	BC	UCC	RC
Cape Verde	BC		RC
Central African	BC		
Republic			
Chad	BC		
Chile	BC	UCC	RC
China	BC	UCC	
Colombia	BC	UCC	RC
Comoros	BC		
Congo	BC		RC
Costa Rica	BC	UCC	RC

Côte d'Ivoire	BC		
Croatia	BC	UCC	RC
Cuba	BC	UCC	
Cyprus	BC	UCC	
Czech Republic	BC	UCC	RC
Democratic Republic	BC		
of Korea			
Democratic Republic	BC		
of the Congo			
Denmark	BC	UCC	RC
Djibouti	BC		
Dominica	BC		RC
Dominican Republic	BC	UCC	RC
Ecuador	BC	UCC	RC
Egypt	BC		
El Salvador	BC	UCC	RC
Equatorial Guinea	BC		
Estonia	BC		RC
Fiji	BC	UCC	RC
Finland	BC	UCC	RC
France	BC	UCC	RC
Gabon	BC		
Gambia	BC		
Georgia	BC		RC
Germany	BC	UCC	RC
Ghana	BC	UCC	
Greece	BC	UCC	RC
Grenada	BC		
Guatemala	BC	UCC	RC
Guinea	BC	UCC	
Guinea-Bissau	BC		
Guyana	BC		
Haiti	BC	UCC	
Holy See	BC	UCC	
Honduras	BC		RC
Hungary	BC	UCC	RC
Iceland	BC	UCC	RC
India	BC	UCC	
Indonesia	BC		
Ireland	BC	UCC	RC
Israel	BC	UCC	RC
Italy	BC	UCC	RC
Jamaica	BC		RC
Japan	BC	UCC	RC
Jordan	BC		
Kazakhstan	BC	UCC	
Kenya	BC	UCC	
Kyrgyzstan	BC	TTGG	RC
Lao People's		UCC	
Democratic Republic			

*	D.C.		D. C.
Latvia	BC		RC
Lebanon	BC	UCC	RC
Lesotho	BC	****	RC
Liberia	BC	UCC	
Libyan Arab	BC		
Jamahiriya	_ ~		
Liechtenstein	BC	UCC	RC
Lithuania	BC		RC
Luxembourg	BC	UCC	RC
Madagascar	BC		
Malawi	BC	UCC	
Malaysia	BC		
Mali	BC		
Malta	BC	UCC	
Mauritania	BC		
Mauritius	BC	UCC	
Mexico	BC	UCC	RC
Micronesia	BC		
(Federated States of)			
Monaco	BC	UCC	
Mongolia	BC		
Montenegro	BC	UCC	RC
Morocco	BC	UCC	
Namibia	BC		
Nepal	BC		
Netherlands	BC	UCC	RC
New Zealand	BC	UCC	
Nicaragua	BC	UCC	RC
Niger	BC	UCC	RC
Nigeria	BC	UCC	RC
Norway	BC	UCC	RC
Oman	BC		
Pakistan	BC	UCC	
Panama	BC	UCC	RC
Paraguay	BC	UCC	RC
Peru	BC	UCC	RC
Philippines	BC		RC
Poland	BC	UCC	RC
Portugal	BC	UCC	RC
Qatar	BC		110
Republic of Korea	BC	UCC	RC
Republic of Moldova	BC	UCC	RC
Romania	BC		RC
Russian Federation	BC	UCC	RC
Rwanda	BC	UCC	RC
Saint Kitts and Nevis	BC		
Saint Lucia	BC		RC
Saint Vincent and the	BC	UCC	I.C
Grenadines	DC		
Samoa	BC		
Samoa	DC		

Saudi Arabia	BC	UCC	
Senegal	BC	UCC	
Serbia	BC	UCC	RC
Singapore	BC		
Slovakia	BC	UCC	RC
Slovenia	BC	UCC	RC
South Africa	BC		
Spain	BC	UCC	RC
Sri Lanka	BC	UCC	
Sudan	BC		
Suriname	BC		
Swaziland	BC		
Sweden	BC	UCC	RC
Switzerland	BC	UCC	RC
Syrian Arab Republic	BC		RC
The former Yugoslav	BC	UCC	RC
Republic of			
Macedonia			
Tajikistan	BC	UCC	RC
Thailand	BC		
Togo	BC	UCC	RC
Tonga	BC		
Trinidad and Tobago	BC	UCC	
Tunisia	BC	UCC	
Turkey	BC		RC
Ukraine	BC	UCC	RC
United Arab	BC		RC
Emirates			110
United Kingdom	BC	UCC	RC
United Republic of	BC		110
Tanzania			
United States of	BC	UCC	
America	БС		
Uruguay	BC	UCC	RC
Uzbekistan	BC	000	nc
Venezuela	BC	UCC	RC
(Bolivarian Republic	ВС		nc
of)			
Viet Nam	ВС		RC
Yemen	BC		KC
Zambia	BC	UCC	
Zimbabwe	BC		
Ziiiiuauwc	DC		
TOTAL	164	100	87

[End of document]