

MVT/A/2/1 REV. ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: SEPTEMBER 26, 2017

Ε

Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled (MVT)

Assembly

Second (2nd Ordinary) Session Geneva, October 2 to 11, 2017

STATUS OF THE MARRAKESH TREATY

Document prepared by the Secretariat

This document provides information on signature as well as on ratification of, and accession to, the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled "Marrakesh Treaty" or "MVT". It also provides an update on the status of MVT promotion and implementation.

A. MARRAKESH TREATY SIGNATURE

1. On June 27, 2013, the Diplomatic Conference to Conclude a Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works by Visually Impaired Persons and Persons with Print Disabilities adopted by consensus the MVT, which was opened for signature on June 28, 2013. In accordance with Article 17 of the MVT, the Treaty remained open for signature at the headquarters of WIPO for one year after its adoption, that is, until June 27, 2014.

2. As of June 27, 2014, the 80 eligible parties listed in Annex I signed the MVT.

B. MARRAKESH TREATY ENTRY INTO FORCE

3. Article 18 of the MVT provides that the Treaty shall enter into force three months after 20 eligible parties have deposited their instruments of ratification or accession. The twentieth deposit was made on June 30, 2016.

4. On September 30, 2016 the MVT entered into force.

C. MARRAKESH TREATY PROMOTION

5. Since September 2016, the Secretariat has organized nine national, regional and inter-regional events for the promotion of the Marrakesh Treaty, namely in Buenos Aires, Dakar, Doha, Manila, Mexico City, Ouagadougou, San Jose, Singapore and Montevideo, and has included the Marrakesh Treaty in a number of other programs and activities.

6. The Secretariat has also engaged in a number of activities, including legislative assistance, at the national level.

D. MARRAKESH TREATY RATIFICATION AND ACCESSION

7. As of the date of this document, the 31 WIPO Member States listed in Annex II have ratified or acceded to the Marrakesh Treaty.

8. The Assembly of the Marrakesh Treaty is invited to take note of the "Status of the Marrakesh Treaty (document MVT/A/2/1 Rev.)

[Annexes follow]

SIGNATORIES OF THE MARRAKESH TREATY TO FACILITATE ACCESS TO PUBLISHED WORKS FOR PERSONS WHO ARE BLIND, VISUALLY IMPAIRED OR OTHERWISE PRINT DISABLED (as of June 27, 2014)

The following eligible parties signed the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled: Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Holy See, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Sudan, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, and Zimbabwe (80).

[Annex II follows]

RATIFICATIONS OF ACCESSIONS TO THE MARRAKESH TREATY TO FACILITATE ACCESS TO PUBLISHED WORKS FOR PERSONS WHO ARE BLIND, VISUALLY IMPAIRED OR OTHERWISE PRINT DISABLED (as of September 19, 2017)

The following Member States ratified or acceded to the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled: Argentina, Australia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Israel, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mexico, Mongolia, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Republic of Korea, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Uruguay (31).

[End of Annex II and of document]