

WO/CC/77/INF/1 REV. ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: FEBRUARY 4, 2020

## **WIPO Coordination Committee**

Seventy-Seventh (27<sup>th</sup> Extraordinary) Session Geneva, March 4 and 5, 2020

INFORMATION CONCERNING MEMBERSHIP AND RIGHT TO VOTE

Memorandum of the Secretariat

1. The present document provides information on membership of the WIPO Coordination Committee, and the right to vote in the context of the nomination by the Coordination Committee of a candidate for the post of Director General.

## **Members**

2. The members of the WIPO Coordination Committee are: the members of the Executive Committee of the Paris Union and of the Executive Committee of the Berne Union (Article 8(1)(a) of the Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization ("the WIPO Convention")); the *ad hoc* members elected by virtue of Article 8(1)(c) of the WIPO Convention from among States party to the WIPO Convention that are not members of any of the Unions administered by WIPO; and Switzerland in its capacity as *ex officio* member (see Article 11(9)(a) of the WIPO Convention). The list of those States members of the WIPO Coordination Committee at the time of its extraordinary session is as follows:

Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia (ad hoc), Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania,

Russian Federation, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland (ex officio), Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe (83).

## Observers

- 3. Article 8(7) of the WIPO Convention provides that "[a]ny State Member of WIPO which is not a member of the Coordination Committee may be represented at the meetings of the Committee by observers having the right to take part in the debates but without the right to vote".
- 4. The Member States of WIPO which are not, as of this date, members of the Coordination Committee are:

Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Fiji, Gambia, Greece, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Holy See, Honduras, Israel, Jordan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Monaco, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Niue, North Macedonia, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Yemen, Zambia (109).

## Right to Vote

- 5. At its extraordinary session in September 1998, the WIPO General Assembly adopted procedures for nomination by the Coordination Committee of a candidate to the post of Director General of WIPO (see documents WO/GA/23/6, paragraph 5 and WO/GA/23/7, paragraph 22).
- 6. In September 2019, the WIPO General Assembly, the WIPO Coordination Committee and the Paris and Berne Union Assemblies, each as far as it is concerned, amended the 1998 Procedures to create new 2019 Procedures for the nomination and Appointment of Directors General of WIPO (see document A/59/14 paragraph 42(ii)).

7. The 2019 procedures, in Rule II "Right to vote", provide that:

"It is established that, for the purposes of the nomination of a candidate for Director General by the Coordination Committee, all the members of the Coordination Committee, with the exception of associate members<sup>1</sup>, may exercise their vote."

[End of document]

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> In light of the abolition of the Conferences of Representatives of the Paris and Berne Unions, there are no longer associate members in the Coordination Committee.