



WO/CF/XIV/1 ORIGINAL: English DATE: August 29, 1997

WORLD INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION GENEVA

WIPO CONFERENCE

Fourteenth Session (13th Ordinary) Geneva, September 22 to October 1, 1997

DESIGNATION OF MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP OF THE PERMANENT COMMITTEE FOR DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION RELATED TO INDUSTRIAL PROPERTY AND OF THE WORKING GROUP OF THE PERMANENT COMMITTEE FOR DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION RELATED TO COPYRIGHT AND NEIGHBORING RIGHTS

Memorandum by the International Bureau

1. At its thirtieth session, held in September 1992, the WIPO Coordination Committee decided that the Permanent Committee for Development Cooperation Related to Industrial Property (PC/IP) and the Permanent Committee for Development Cooperation Related to Copyright and Neighboring Rights (PC/CR) would each have a Working Group, which would meet in the year in which the corresponding Permanent Committee would not meet (see document WO/CC/XXX/6, paragraph 51).

2. The WIPO Coordination Committee further decided that the members of each Working Group, would be designated (from among the members of the corresponding Permanent Committee) by the WIPO Conference in its ordinary sessions and that the members of each Working Group would be of the same number, and the same geographical distribution, as those of the WIPO Budget Committee.

3. The tasks of the two Permanent Committees and the frequency of their meetings in the 1998-99 biennium will be confirmed or changed in the program of that biennium. The need for

WO/CF/XIV/1 page 2

the continuation of the two Working Groups and, if they continue, the frequency of their meetings will also be confirmed or changed in the same program. That program, however, will be decided upon on the basis of proposals to be made by the new Director General after the present (September/October 1997) session of the Governing Bodies.

4. Consequently, one of the possible decisions that the WIPO Conference could make is not to proceed with the designations in its present session.

5. If this decision is made, it should be understood that any necessary decision would be made in the same sessions of the Governing Bodies that will adopt the program and budget for the 1998-99 biennium.

6. The other possible decision would be to proceed with the designation of the members of the two Working Groups in the present (September/October 1997) session of the Governing Bodies.

7. In that case, the WIPO Conference would have to make first a preliminary decision, namely whether the number of the members of each of the Working Groups, and the geographical distribution in each of them, should be the same as that of the *present* Budget Committee (which will last until the end of 1997) or that such members and geographical distribution should be the same as that of the new Budget Committee (which will be elected during the present session of the Governing Bodies and will exist throughout the 1998-99 biennium).

8. Once the preliminary decision referred to in the preceding paragraph is made, the WIPO Conference could proceed to the designation of the members of the two Working Groups. The countries eligible are the respective members of the Permanent Committees. They are listed in Annex A. The number and the countries members of the present Budget Committee are indicated in document WO/GA/XXI/7 and the geographical distribution flows from the said member countries. The number of members of the *future* Budget Committee and the countries concerned will become known once the WIPO General Assembly will have elected their members in the present (September/October 1997) session, of the Governing Bodies. The present members of the two Working Groups are listed in Annex B.

9. The WIPO Conference is invited to decide

either not to proceed in the present session with the designations (see paragraph 4, above), subject to the understanding mentioned in paragraph 5, above

or to proceed in the present session with the designations of the members of the two Working Groups (see paragraph 6, above); however, the designations would have to be preceded by the preliminary decisions mentioned in paragraph 7, above.

[Annexes follow]

WO/CF/XIV/1

ANNEX A

MEMBERS OF THE TWO PERMANENT COMMITTEES (Status of September 1, 1997)

Ι

PERMANENT COMMITTEE FOR DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION RELATED TO INDUSTRIAL PROPERTY

Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakstan, Kenya, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zambia, Zimbabwe (122).

WO/CF/XIV/1 Annex A, page 2

Π

PERMANENT COMMITTEE FOR DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION RELATED TO COPYRIGHT AND NEIGHBORING RIGHTS

Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Benin, Bhutan, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, Fiji, Finland, France, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Latvia, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe (109).

WO/CF/XIV/1

ANNEX B

MEMBERS OF THE TWO WORKING GROUPS (Status of September 1, 1997)

I

WORKING GROUP OF THE PERMANENT COMMITTEE FOR DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION RELATED TO INDUSTRIAL PROPERTY

Austria Brazil Burkina Faso Canada Chile China Democratic People's Republic of Korea France Germany Hungary India Japan Philippines Romania Spain Switzerland United States of America Uruguay Uzbekistan Zambia Zimbabwe

WO/CF/XIV/1 Annex B, page 2

Π

WORKING GROUP OF THE PERMANENT COMMITTEE FOR DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION RELATED TO COPYRIGHT AND NEIGHBORING RIGHTS

Argentina Canada China **Czech Republic** Finland France Ghana Hungary Indonesia Japan Lesotho Pakistan Panama Republic of Korea Slovakia Spain Switzerland Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia United Kingdom United States of America

[End of annexes and of document]