



WO/GA/XXI/7
ORIGINAL: English
DATE: June 30, 1997

## WORLD INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION GENEVA

## **WIPO GENERAL ASSEMBLY**

Twenty-First Session (13th Ordinary)
Geneva, September 22 to October 1, 1997

ELECTION OF THE MEMBERS OF THE BUDGET COMMITTEE

Memorandum of the Director General

1. The WIPO Budget Committee was established in 1976 with ten elected States and Switzerland as an *ex officio* member. In 1977, the number of elected States was raised to 13; 14 States were elected in 1989, and 20 States were elected in 1993. The present membership of the WIPO Budget Committee continues until December 31, 1997. The results of each election and the present situation are reflected in the following table:

## WO/GA/XXI/7 page 2

<u>1976</u>	<u>1977</u>	<u>1979</u>	<u>1981</u>	<u>1985</u>	<u>1989</u>	1993 (Present <u>Situation</u> )
						Algeria
Brazil	Brazil	Brazil	Brazil	Brazil	Brazil	Brazil
						Bulgaria
Cameroon	Cameroon	Cameroon	Cameroon	Cameroon		
	Canada	Canada	Canada	Canada	Canada	Canada
					Chile	Chile
					China	China
Cuba	Cuba	Cuba	Cuba	Cuba		
	Czechoslovakia	Czechoslovakia	Czechoslovakia	Czechoslovakia	Czechoslovakia	
Egypt	Egypt	Egypt	Egypt	Egypt	Egypt	
France	France	France	France	France	France	France
Germany	Germany (Fod Bon of)	Germany	Germany	Germany (Fod Bon of)	Germany	Germany
(Fed. Rep. of)	(Fed. Rep. of)	(Fed. Rep. of)	(Fed. Rep. of)	(Fed. Rep. of)	(Fed. Rep. of)	Guinea
India	India	India	India	India	India	India
	Iraq	Iraq	Iraq			
Japan	Japan	Japan	Japan	Japan	Japan	Japan Netherlands
						Pakistan
						Philippines
						Poland
Soviet Union	Soviet Union	Soviet Union	Soviet Union	Soviet Union	Soviet Union	Russian Federation
				Sri Lanka		
Switzerland (ex officio)	Switzerland (ex officio)	Switzerland (ex officio)	Switzerland (ex officio)	Switzerland (ex officio)	Switzerland (ex officio)	Switzerland (ex officio)
						United Kingdom
					United Republic of Tanzania	United Republic of Tanzania
United States of America	United States of America	United States of America	United States of America	United States of America	United States of America	United States of America
						Uruguay
					Yugoslavia	
11	14	14	14	14	15	21

- 2. It is proposed that 20 States (or another number of States, if so desired by the WIPO General Assembly) be elected as members of the WIPO Budget Committee in the September-October 1997 session of the WIPO General Assembly, and that their mandate last from October 1, 1997, to September 30, 2001 (i.e., for four years). Switzerland's (*ex officio*) membership will continue.
- 3. It is recalled that the WIPO General Assembly decided in 1995 that States members of WIPO but not members of the WIPO Budget Committee may participate, in an observer capacity, in the sessions of that Committee and, to that end, may receive the relevant documentation.
  - 4. The WIPO General Assembly is invited to elect the members of the WIPO Budget Committee as proposed in paragraph 2, above, and to note the continued ex officio membership of Switzerland.

[End of document]