



WO/GA/XXI/8
ORIGINAL: English
DATE: June 30, 1997

WORLD INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION GENEVA

WIPO GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Twenty-First Session (13th Ordinary) Geneva, September 22 to October 1, 1997

ELECTION OF THE MEMBERS OF THE PREMISES COMMITTEE

Memorandum of the Director General

- 1. The WIPO Premises Committee was established in 1989 with the following 12 States elected as members: Argentina, Brazil, China, Egypt, France, German Democratic Republic, Germany (Federal Republic of), India, Nigeria, Soviet Union, Switzerland, United States of America (see paragraph 102 of document AB/XX/20); there have been no elections since then. The present membership of the WIPO Premises Committee consists of the following 11 States: Argentina, Brazil, China, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Nigeria, Russian Federation, Switzerland, United States of America.
- 2. It is proposed that 12 States (or another number of States, if so desired by the WIPO General Assembly) be elected as members of the WIPO Premises Committee in the September–October 1997 session of the WIPO General Assembly, and that their mandate last from October 1, 1997, to September 30, 2001 (i.e., for four years).

WO/GA/XXI/8 page 2

- 3. It is recalled that the WIPO General Assembly decided in 1995 that States members of WIPO but not members of the WIPO Premises Committee may participate, in an observer capacity, in the sessions of that Committee and, to that end, may receive the relevant documentation.
 - 4. The WIPO General Assembly is invited to elect the members of the WIPO Premises Committee as proposed in paragraph 2, above.

[End of document]